Roger Osborne

Roger Osborne grew up on a small dairy farm in country Queensland. He completed a PhD at the Australian Defence Force Academy in 2000, producing the first scholarly edition of Joseph Conrad’s Under Western Eyes. He taught English and American literature at the Academy before moving to Brisbane where he took up a postdoctoral fellowship in the Australian Studies Centre, University of Queensland, conducting research on Australian magazine culture. He has been associated with AustLit for many years and continues to contribute to the database as a researcher and compiler.

Roger’s research focuses on book history and print culture. Most recently, he has worked on the ARC-funded project America Publishes Australia: Australian Books and American Publishers, 1890-2005. His edition of Under Western Eyes was published by Cambridge University Press in 2013, and he has worked on an edition of Conrad’s modernist classic, Nostromo, widely considered Conrad’s modernist masterpiece. This edition is scheduled for publication in 2019. T

Roger has worked at the forefront of digital scholarly editing and has an international reputation for this work. His Joseph Furphy Digital Archive was published in 2015, and continues to grow with new modules added each year. He is currently planning a book-length study of Furphy’s Such is Life to accompany the Digital Archive that investigates the intersections of material and digital textuality in historical contexts.

Roger has employed digital humanities methods in the study of book history, and has completed several well-regarded digital mapping projects. Through productive intersections with existing and emerging research strengths, his experience as a scholarly editor and book historian in trans-national studies and digital humanities makes a significant contribution to the literary studies program at James Cook University.

 In 2011 he was awarded the Nancy Keesing Fellowship, and the 2016 Fryer Fellowship.

He joined JCU in 2018 as Lecturer in English and Writing.

In 2011 he was awarded the Nancy Keesing Fellowship, and the 2016 Fryer Fellowship.